Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Logo

The commitment to create an Equity, Diversity and Inclusion (EDI) Advisory Committee was made by Provincial Council in the fall of 2019, and its 12 members, together with 5 staff resource people, began meeting in June 2020. The EDI Advisory Committee will provide advice and make recommendations to our the OPC Executive and Provincial Council on matters of policy and governance and to our the OPC Executive Director on operational matters.

In addition, the EDI Advisory Committee will implement and/or oversee projects and activities designed to advance equity, inclusion, anti-racism and anti-oppression, with a focus on addressing systemic oppression, specifically anti-Black racism, anti-Indigenous racism, racism against people of colour, Islamophobia, homophobia and transphobia.

For further information read our outline of the Terms of Reference.

Committee Members

Read our recent profile aricle in The Register  to learn more about each EDI Committee member. 

  • Michelle Rodney Bartalos
  • Nancy Brady
  • Lisa Collins
  • Yonnette E. Dey
  • Tina Futers
  • Elizabeth Innes
  • Kenneth Mak
  • Ann Pace
  • Dr. Kimberley Tavares
  • Irfan Toor
  • Abe Wall
  • Matthew Webbe

The committee is also supported by OPC staff. 


 Below is an evolving list of equity, diversity and inclusion resources that include information we hope will help our Members work to understand and support the communities and students that they serve. 

Connect with our EDI Committee

The Equity, Diversity and Inclusion (EDI) Committee welcomes questions, comments or suggestions for project considerations or collaborative work.

To connect we ask that you please email president@principals.ca and include an outline or proposal for consideration.